Fresh Peas and Cottage Cheese in Almond butter spice gravy

017

This slurpy dish gets its creaminess from freshly soaked and ground up almonds that add not only amazing taste but also act as a healthy thickening agent. Fresh peas & fresh tomotoes from your local farmer’s market is what makes this dish shine. And if you grew fresh herbs like we did this summer, feel free to pinch some fresh cilantro from your back yard for that sizzling garnish. Gardening is one of the things I’ve been busy with lately hence the blogging break.. but I also went for laser eye surgery.. will post details next time.

Ingredients
2 cups paneer cubed(Indian cottage cheese) or tofu
1 1/2 cups fresh peas(frozen if you cant find fresh)
1 cup chopped onions
½ cup chopped tomato
Spice Mix
1 tbsp fresh minced garlic
1 tbsp tsp fresh minced ginger
1 tsp chopped fresh cilantro
2 tbsp coconut oil
Pinch hing
½ tsp turmeric powder
¼ tsp cayenne pepper
6 almonds soaked in ½ cup water
Serves 4

Method
• Heat sauté pan. Add ½ tsp coconut oil. Place cottage cheese cubes on heated pan, turn when underside is lightly browned. Remove from heat when cubes are lightly browned all over. Set aside. SOS if you want to make your own paneer check out this step by step how to from a talented fellow blogger Vini. FYI -substitute tofu if you are daily intolerant..

083
• Heat wok. Add 2 tbsp oil. Add cumin, hing and chopped onions. Saute till onions are cooked and soft.
• Stir in chopped garlic and ginger & let cook. Add turmeric, cayenne pepper. Add tomatoes and let cook.
• Meanwhile peel soaked almonds and grind to paste with ¼ cup water. Set aside.
• Tomatoes are cooked when water separates from oil. Then add the ground almond paste. Add 2 cups water & let come to boil.
• Add fresh green peas, stir in salt, let come to gentle boil so peas absorb al that slurpy goodness. Turn stove off.
• Add in sautéed cheese cubes. Garnish with fresh cilantro leaves. Don’t these organic cilantro leaves that Mom grew from seed look divine. They’re real easy to grow, just need lots of sun and some water.

011
• Serve hot with chapatti or any bread that you can use to scoop up the delicious gravy.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz says:

    I think I can use the same recipe for Tofu. I’ve bookmarked it. Thanks and have a wonderful day!

    1. soulofspice says:

      You read my mind! just thinking about that last night. Love to hear how tofu turns out.. I’ll update my post soon..thanks for writing in with a great idea..

  2. Great idea, Charu, to bring on a creamy texture with almond in the gravy! And I really like the way you’ve roasted the cottage cheese! This is true ‘slurpy goodness’!

    1. soulofspice says:

      thanks Peri.. I’ve always wondered why we needed to deep fry cottage cheese, Its tasty enough as is. Moving to Canada makes me appreciate all the healthy choices( like lightly sauteeing paneer )I’ve been able to weave into my cooking, much like you also do. in your amazing indian inspired recipes.

  3. Cindy Green says:

    Hi! I’ve nominated you for the versatile blogger award! But participation is purely optional. If you’re interested please check out this post at http://foodthoughtstoshare.wordpress.com/

  4. Looks delicious! Bookmarking this recipe–thanks for sharing 🙂

    1. soulofspice says:

      thanks!! my mom loves this too,, you just reminded me its time to make it again.. please do let me know how you find it..

  5. Hi, , I wish you won’t mind that I nominate you to the ‘Dragon’s Loyalty Award’ 2013. I knew you have few awards already, but if you like to join in, please click in this link: http://matchamochimoo.wordpress.com/2013/12/04/thanks-for-the-dragons-loyalty-award-blog-of-the-year-2013-award-3-stars-%E2%98%86-%E2%98%86-%E2%98%86-in-dec-2013/#more-3988. Enjoy it!

  6. Very different way of making Matar-Paneer. I will try it very soon. 🙂

    1. soulofspice says:

      Hope you do.. please let me know how it turns out 🙂

Leave a comment