Creamy Upma

Upma is a creamy savory cream of wheat cereal that can nourish and meet many of your nutritious needs simply and with ease. Watch this video to learn 3 efficiency tips to make Upma quickly . For parents with kids, serve upma with some sweetener on the side, and for adults, serve upma by itself or watch for pairing options.

Music : Clip from my Toronto concert in 2005, where I sang/organized a fundraiser to help raise funds ($10,000) for special needs kids at at a time when I was leaving my abusive relationship. I am in awe of how I was able to stand my ground despite my shaky situation & still focus on a community that needed help. This reliance on self is what I hope to share through my YouTube channel. Hope you enjoy this music.

▬ INGREDIENTS ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
►Creamy Upma
✔ 1 cup Sooji(cream of wheat)
✔ 3 cups water
✔ ½ cup diced carrots
✔ ½ cup cauliflower florets
✔ ½ cup green peas
✔ 1 cup chopped red onions
✔ 1 tbsp. diced Fresh Ginger
✔ 2 Thai green chilies
✔ 3 tbsp. cooking oil(I Used grapeseed oil)
✔ ½ tsp mustard seeds
✔ ½ tsp channa dal
✔ ¼ tsp urad dal dal
✔ 1 tsp curry leaves
✔ 1 tsp raw, unsalted cashews
✔ 1 tsp fresh lime juice
✔ pinch hing
✔ sea salt to taste

▬ METHOD ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Cut carrots, cauliflower, onions, green chilies and ginger.
Set aside

Dry roast Sooji(cream of wheat) till golden brown. Set aside.

Heat oil in pan. Add mustard seeds. When they splutter, toss in the urad dal, channa dal , curry leaves & sauté till golden brown. Add in the onions and salt, then green chilies, ginger. Sauté again, then toss in remaining veggies. Sauté again.

Add in 3 cups boiling water and then drop the Sooji in the pan. Stir a little to mix everything, turn heat off and cover with lid. After about a minute, take off lid, squeeze in fresh lime and fluff with fork.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment